Workshop

Ancient Steel: A Hand-Forged Knife Demonstration

The James Beard Foundation, in partnership with Kikuichi Cutlery, Bowery Kitchen Supplies, JCAN, and the Brooklyn Kitchen, invites you to a special knife-forging demonstration in the Beard House Garden. Featuring every phase of the metalworking process—including forging, finishing and engraving— this demonstration will showcase an ancient art that gives beauty and life to raw steel.

 

Known for its superior cutlery, Kikuichi has a long and distinguished history: although they have been producing knives for over a century, the company’s origins lie some seven hundred years ago, tied to the manufacture of Samurai swords that bore the Emperor's chrysanthemum symbol as a mark of excellence. These ancestral swords are now considered national treasures in Japan.

 

This event is free and open to professional chefs and their cooking staff. Space is limited, so please call 212.627.2308 to reserve your place.

MENU

Refreshments provided by Nishimoto Trading Co., Ltd. and James Beard House purveyors Nestlé Waters, Lavazza Coffee, and Les Palais des Thes.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Fri, 08.17.2012
  • 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • This event is free for professional chefs and their staffs
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2016

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Splash of Winter Rosé Mon, 02.01.2016
 
Five-Star Winter Elegance Tue, 02.02.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Flavors of Veneto Thu, 02.04.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
San Diego Hot Spot Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Luxurious Kaiseki Sat, 02.06.2016
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
Mardi Gras Mystique Tue, 02.09.2016
 
Feast of the Senses Wed, 02.10.2016
 
Pocono Mountain Retreat Thu, 02.11.2016
 
Southern Social Fri, 02.12.2016
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
New Orleans Charm Wed, 02.17.2016
 
The Art of the Chef Thu, 02.18.2016
 
Rustic Italian Fri, 02.19.2016
 
Neighborhood Gem Sat, 02.20.2016
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Toast of Montauk Wed, 02.24.2016
 
New-School Italian Thu, 02.25.2016
 
Beetlebung Farm Supper Fri, 02.26.2016
 
 
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
 
Bold Asian Flavor Mon, 02.29.2016
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam