Workshop

Ancient Steel: A Hand-Forged Knife Demonstration

The James Beard Foundation, in partnership with Kikuichi Cutlery, Bowery Kitchen Supplies, JCAN, and the Brooklyn Kitchen, invites you to a special knife-forging demonstration in the Beard House Garden. Featuring every phase of the metalworking process—including forging, finishing and engraving— this demonstration will showcase an ancient art that gives beauty and life to raw steel.

 

Known for its superior cutlery, Kikuichi has a long and distinguished history: although they have been producing knives for over a century, the company’s origins lie some seven hundred years ago, tied to the manufacture of Samurai swords that bore the Emperor's chrysanthemum symbol as a mark of excellence. These ancestral swords are now considered national treasures in Japan.

 

This event is free and open to professional chefs and their cooking staff. Space is limited, so please call 212.627.2308 to reserve your place.

MENU

Refreshments provided by Nishimoto Trading Co., Ltd. and James Beard House purveyors Nestlé Waters, Lavazza Coffee, and Les Palais des Thes.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Fri, 08.17.2012
  • 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • This event is free for professional chefs and their staffs
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2013

S M T W T F S
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Fri, 03.01.2013
 
The Berkshire Cure-All Fri, 03.01.2013
 
Toast of Atlanta Sat, 03.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Great Neighborhood Brunch Sun, 03.03.2013
 
Philippe Chin and Friends Mon, 03.04.2013
 
Ode to Local Tue, 03.05.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Coastal Cuisine Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Mid-Atlantic Mediterranean Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Beach Fare and Cocktails Fri, 03.08.2013
 
Big Beef, Big Red Sat, 03.09.2013
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
 
Ooh La l’Amour Mon, 03.11.2013
 
From Scratch Sessions Tue, 03.12.2013
 
From Garden to Table Tue, 03.12.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Latin Road Home Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Beauty of Basilicata Thu, 03.14.2013
 
Modern Chinese Fri, 03.15.2013
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
Charleston, SC Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Culinary Whimsy Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Norouz: Persian New Year Tue, 03.19.2013
 
A Taste of Korea Wed, 03.20.2013
 
Bay Area Brasserie Thu, 03.21.2013
 
Innovative Seafood Fri, 03.22.2013
 
Sophisticated French Sat, 03.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
Second Night Passover Seder Tue, 03.26.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.27.2013
 
¡Viva Pensacola! Wed, 03.27.2013
 
 
Chic Italian Luncheon Fri, 03.29.2013
 
 
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam