Jeremy Nolen and Marnie Old with members of their team in the Beard House kitchen
Foie Gras Liverwurst with Red Currant–Shallot Preserves on Rye Crostini
Pickled Poconos Brook Trout with Shallot Confit and Mustard Seed Caviar
Hazelnut Soup with Black Truffles and Crispy Duck Cracklings
Cured Westphalian Duck Ham with Pumpernickel Crumbs and Lingonberries
Cold-Smoked Venison Carpaccio with Spruce Oil, Pickled Turnip Salad, and Spiced Hazelnuts
Swabian Parsnip–Stuffed Pasta with Cod, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, and Smoked Duck Broth
Chef Jeremy Nolan searing cod in the Beard House kitchen
Rabbit Ragoût with Poppy Seed Noodles, Blood Sausage, and Smoked Paprika
Bone-In Berkshire Pork Chop with House-Fermented Savoy Cabbage Sauerkraut, Pretzel Dumpling, and Cherry Wheat Beer Mustard
Cherry Strudel with Marzipan, Toasted Almonds, and Icewine Sabayon
Dinner

Bold German Cuisine

Jeremy Nolen

Brauhaus Schmitz and Wursthaus Schmitz, Philadelphia

Sommelier/Author Marnie Old

Old Wines, LLC, Philadelphia

Forget brats and bier steins. Culinary wunderkind Jeremy Nolen is elevating German food to new heights at his Philadelphia hotspot Brauhaus Schmitz. Join us for a tasting of modern German cuisine and boutique wines at his Beard House debut. Prost to that!

Event photos taken by Tom Kirkman.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Stopfleberwurst
    • Foie Gras Liverwurst with Red Currant–Shallot Preserves on Rye Crostini
    • Forelle Rollmops
    • Pickled Poconos Brook Trout with Shallot Confit and Mustard Seed Caviar
    • Haselnusssuppe
    • Hazelnut Soup with Black Truffles and Crispy Duck Cracklings
    • Enten
    • Cured Westphalian Duck Ham with Pumpernickel Crumbs and Lingonberries
    • Von Schubert Maximin Grünhäuser Riesling Kabinett 2010
  • Dinner

    • Reh Carpaccio
    • Cold-Smoked Venison Carpaccio with Spruce Oil, Pickled Turnip Salad, and Spiced Hazelnuts
    • TRIMBACH DRY GEWÜRZTRAMINER 2010
    • Maultaschen und Dorsch
    • Swabian Parsnip–Stuffed Pasta with Cod, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, and Smoked Duck Broth
    • Becker Estate Pinot Noir 2009
    • Kaninchen Gulasch
    • Rabbit Ragoût with Poppy Seed Noodles, Blood Sausage, and Smoked Paprika
    • HERMANN MOSER ZWEIGELT 2010
    • Entenbratwurst mit Schweinskottelet
    • Bone-In Berkshire Pork Chop with House-Fermented Savoy Cabbage Sauerkraut, Pretzel Dumpling, and Cherry Wheat Beer Mustard
    • TIEFENBRUNNER CASTEL TURMHOF LAGREIN 2009
    • Kirschstrudel
    • Cherry Strudel with Marzipan, Toasted Almonds, and Icewine Sabayon
    • PACIFIC RIM VIN DE GLACIERE RIESLING 2010

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 02.02.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

April 2013

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
Under the Sea Tue, 04.02.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 04.03.2013
 
Boston Seafood Celebration Wed, 04.03.2013
 
 
Modern Debut Fri, 04.05.2013
 
French Creole Meets Italian Sat, 04.06.2013
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
Spring Elegance Mon, 04.08.2013
 
Three-Star Italian Tue, 04.09.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 04.10.2013
 
Lambs and Clams Wed, 04.10.2013
 
Rioja Celebration Thu, 04.11.2013
 
Rocky Mountain Retreat Fri, 04.12.2013
 
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Baker’s Brunch Sun, 04.14.2013
 
Memphis Sun, 04.14.2013
 
Luxury Sonoma Tue, 04.16.2013
 
Chicago Michelin Star Wed, 04.17.2013
 
Comfort Me with Spring Thu, 04.18.2013
 
Aegean Idyll Fri, 04.19.2013
 
Providence Heritage Sat, 04.20.2013
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Modern Italian Mon, 04.22.2013
 
 
Savoring Thai Flavors Wed, 04.24.2013
 
Market-Fresh Montauk Thu, 04.25.2013
 
 
Peruvian Panache Sat, 04.27.2013
 
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
 
 
Sierra Nevada Foothills Tue, 04.30.2013
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam