Spike Gjerde and his team at the James Beard House
Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash
Behind the scenes in the James Beard House kitchen
7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
Spike Gjerde at the James Beard House
Dinner

Chesapeake Bounty

Spike Gjerde

Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore

Tucked away in a hundred-year-old former mill, Woodberry Kitchen is a prominent staple of the Mid-Atlantic locavore movement. Maryland native Spike Gjerde crafts his delectably rustic dishes with an unwavering commitment to the abundance of the Chesapeake landscape that has kept his tables packed with epicureans from Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and beyond.

Event photos taken by Krishna Dayahini. 

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre    

    • Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
    • Clam Fritters
    • Barley Nixtamal
    • Country Ham
    • Upscale Coddies
    • Farmer’s Five Minutes > Maryland-Style Rye Whiskey with Candied Maryland Ginger, Cherries, Garret County Maple, and House Bitters
    • Mason-Jarred New York Sour > New York State Gin, Black Ankle Vineyards Verjus, Summer Preserves, House Cordial, and Maryland Red Wine
  • Dinner

    • Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
    • Old Westminster Winery Albariño 2012
    • Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash 
    • Union Craft Brewing Harvest Beer
    • 7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
    • Pickle Back > New York State Local Rye and Corn Whiskey with Hand-Carved Ice and Pickle Juice
    • Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
    • Black Ankle Vineyards Rolling Hills 2012
    • Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
    • Wiemer Late Harvest Riesling 2012

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 09.30.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

October 2013

S M T W T F S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Cool Chefs Cook Tue, 10.01.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Rare Vintages Wed, 10.02.2013
 
From Scratch Sessions Wed, 10.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Tabernash, CO Fri, 10.04.2013
 
 
Taste America: Philadelphia Fri, 10.04.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Boston Tea Party Sun, 10.06.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Animal Dinner Mon, 10.07.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Modern New England Luxury Tue, 10.08.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Cuisine of the Sun Wed, 10.09.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Toronto Pastiche Thu, 10.10.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Taste America: Los Angeles Fri, 10.11.2013
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Taste of Modern Luxury Sat, 10.12.2013
 
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 10.16.2013
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Chicago's Top Perch Thu, 10.17.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Taste America: Boston Fri, 10.18.2013
 
Newfoundland Heritage Fri, 10.18.2013
 
Taste America: Phoenix Fri, 10.18.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Savoring Seattle Sat, 10.19.2013
 
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
2013 JBF Food Conference Mon, 10.21.2013
 
2013 JBF Leadership Awards Mon, 10.21.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
2013 JBF Food Conference Mon, 10.21.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Fall French Elegance Wed, 10.23.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Neighborhood Gem Thu, 10.24.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
 
Fifth Annual Brooklyn Cooks Sun, 10.27.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Essence of Louisville Mon, 10.28.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Autumn in New York Tue, 10.29.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 10.30.2013
 
Along the Rhine Wed, 10.30.2013
 
Greenhouse Gallery Mon, 09.02.2013
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam