Food Physics
Food Physics
Food Physics
Food Physics
Special Event

Greenhouse Gallery

March–April 2013

Mia Brownell
Food Physics

With intertwined vines, clusters of ripe fruit, dramatic chiaroscuro, and bold perspectives, Mia Brownell’s vibrant compositions simultaneously reference 17th-century still lifes of food and the coiling configurations of molecular imaging. These dynamic paintings reconsider the structures of DNA, amino acids, and protein chains as the architecture from which her food subjects emerge.

Related Info:

Mia Brownell

Located in the reception space where guests mingle and meet before meals, the Greenhouse Gallery exhibits the works of up-and-coming and established artists who work with culinary themes. Providing artists with a complimentary space to show their work not only enhances the overall ambience of the room during events, it’s also in keeping with the Foundation’s mission to celebrate, preserve, and nurture America’s culinary heritage and diversity. Past exhibits have featured mouthwatering food photography, romantic watercolors of mealtime still lifes, and exuberant mixed-media collages.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Fri, 03.01.2013
  • 10:00 AM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $0 / General Public $0
  • Call 212.627.2308 to reserve
 
 
 

February 2013

S M T W T F S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Italian Winter Luncheon Fri, 02.01.2013
 
Bold German Cuisine Sat, 02.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
 
Dreaming of Mexico Mon, 02.04.2013
 
The Art of the Chef Tue, 02.05.2013
 
 
Nantucket Seascape Thu, 02.07.2013
 
Farmland Feast Fri, 02.08.2013
 
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Valentine’s Tea Sun, 02.10.2013
 
 
Mardi Gras Decadence Tue, 02.12.2013
 
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Savoring New Mexico Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Winter Garden Thu, 02.21.2013
 
The Cult of Napa Fri, 02.22.2013
 
Joie de Vivre Sat, 02.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
Tampa, FL Sun, 02.24.2013
 
Treasures of Abruzzo Mon, 02.25.2013
 
 
American Elegance Tue, 02.26.2013
 
Kentucky Spirit Wed, 02.27.2013
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam