Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs
Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels
Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts
Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots
Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese
Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream
Dinner

Mangalitsa Mayhem

Chef/Television Personality Lee Anne Wong
NYC

Joe Macchia
Chow Down, Inc./ NYC

Chef/Vice President Michael Clampffer
Mosefund Mangalitsa/ Branchville, NJ

Renowned for its complex flavor and superior marbling, the Mangalitsa pig makes chefs and pork lovers go hog wild. For this porcine-themed dinner, a team of Mangalitsa devotees will craft a tasting menu from this succulent, old-world heritage breed from New Jersey’s Mosefund Mangalitsa farm.

​Event photos by Krishna Dayanidhi.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts 
    • Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
    • Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs 
    • Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels 
    • Spring Peas and Prosciutto 
  • Dinner

    • Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
    • Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots 
    • Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese 
    • Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
    • Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
    • Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream 
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 04.21.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • Call 212.627.2308 to reserve
 
 
 

October 2012

S M T W T F S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Autumn Splendor Mon, 10.01.2012
 
30 Years of the Water Club Tue, 10.02.2012
 
A Spoonful of Paradise Wed, 10.03.2012
 
Sexy New American Cuisine Thu, 10.04.2012
 
West Hollywood, CA Thu, 10.04.2012
 
Palmaz Wine Lovers' Dinner Sat, 10.06.2012
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 10.10.2012
 
Sunshine State Celebration Wed, 10.10.2012
 
 
Día de la Raza Fri, 10.12.2012
 
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
Southern Flair Mon, 10.15.2012
 
Enlightened Eaters Tue, 10.16.2012
 
That's Amore Tue, 10.16.2012
 
2012 JBF Food Conference Wed, 10.17.2012
 
2012 JBF Leadership Awards Wed, 10.17.2012
 
Bohemian European Wed, 10.17.2012
 
Taste of Panama Thu, 10.18.2012
 
Minneapolis Thu, 10.18.2012
 
Empire State Rising Star Fri, 10.19.2012
 
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Jean-Louis Palladin Dinner Sun, 10.21.2012
 
Kickstart Your Cookbook Mon, 10.22.2012
 
Taste of the Hudson Valley Mon, 10.22.2012
 
American Classic Tue, 10.23.2012
 
Historic Elegance Wed, 10.24.2012
 
Atlantic Beach, FL Thu, 10.25.2012
 
Canada's Top Chefs Thu, 10.25.2012
 
 
Winter Park, FL Fri, 10.26.2012
 
Contemporary Chianti Dinner Sat, 10.27.2012
 
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Atlanta Sun, 10.28.2012
 
Ooh La L'amour Mon, 10.29.2012
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Awards