Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs
Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels
Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts
Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots
Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese
Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream
Dinner

Mangalitsa Mayhem

Chef/Television Personality Lee Anne Wong
NYC

Joe Macchia
Chow Down, Inc./ NYC

Chef/Vice President Michael Clampffer
Mosefund Mangalitsa/ Branchville, NJ

Renowned for its complex flavor and superior marbling, the Mangalitsa pig makes chefs and pork lovers go hog wild. For this porcine-themed dinner, a team of Mangalitsa devotees will craft a tasting menu from this succulent, old-world heritage breed from New Jersey’s Mosefund Mangalitsa farm.

​Event photos by Krishna Dayanidhi.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts 
    • Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
    • Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs 
    • Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels 
    • Spring Peas and Prosciutto 
  • Dinner

    • Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
    • Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots 
    • Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese 
    • Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
    • Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
    • Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream 
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 04.21.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • Call 212.627.2308 to reserve
 
 
 

March 2013

S M T W T F S
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Fri, 03.01.2013
 
The Berkshire Cure-All Fri, 03.01.2013
 
Toast of Atlanta Sat, 03.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Great Neighborhood Brunch Sun, 03.03.2013
 
Philippe Chin and Friends Mon, 03.04.2013
 
Ode to Local Tue, 03.05.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Coastal Cuisine Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Mid-Atlantic Mediterranean Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Beach Fare and Cocktails Fri, 03.08.2013
 
Big Beef, Big Red Sat, 03.09.2013
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
 
Ooh La l’Amour Mon, 03.11.2013
 
From Scratch Sessions Tue, 03.12.2013
 
From Garden to Table Tue, 03.12.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Latin Road Home Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Beauty of Basilicata Thu, 03.14.2013
 
Modern Chinese Fri, 03.15.2013
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
Charleston, SC Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Culinary Whimsy Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Norouz: Persian New Year Tue, 03.19.2013
 
A Taste of Korea Wed, 03.20.2013
 
Bay Area Brasserie Thu, 03.21.2013
 
Innovative Seafood Fri, 03.22.2013
 
Sophisticated French Sat, 03.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
Second Night Passover Seder Tue, 03.26.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.27.2013
 
¡Viva Pensacola! Wed, 03.27.2013
 
 
Chic Italian Luncheon Fri, 03.29.2013
 
 
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Awards