Chef Ian Kapitan and his team at the Beard House kitchen
Miniature Eggs Benedict with Poached Quail Eggs and Porchetta di Testa
Cinnamon Sugared Doughnuts with Coffee Gelée
Crab B.L.T. Sandwiches with Fried Green Tomatoes
Plating Crab B.L.T Sandwiches in the Beard House kitchen
Plating Duck Confit Sloppy Joes in the Beard House kitchen
Warm Lobster Salad with Frisée, Fingerling Potatoes, Lardons, and Smoked Shallot Vinaigrette
Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Roasted Wild Mushrooms with Smoked Ricotta, Red Wine Gastrique, Grilled Red Wine Bread, and Sunny-Side-Up Duck Egg
Foie Gras–Duck Confit Croque Madame with Maple Syrup Gastrique
Chocolate Bread Pudding with Salted Caramel and Ginger Cream
Bread puddingd baking in the Beard House kitchen
Brunch / Tea

Midwinter Brunch

Ian Kapitan

Old School BBQ and Recess Diner (opening 2014), Toronto

After stints working with Susur Lee, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, David Bouley, and Craig Shelton, chef Ian Kapitan has landed in Long Island City, where his rustic American nose-to-tail cooking—and housemade charcuterie, preserves, and pickles—is garnering rave reviews.

 

Event photos taken by Tiffany Smith.

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Miniature Eggs Benedict with Poached Quail Eggs and Porchetta di Testa
    • Cinnamon Sugared Doughnuts with Coffee Gelée
    • Crab B.L.T. Sandwiches with Fried Green Tomatoes
    • Duck Confit
    • Sloppy Joes
    • Spiced Bellini > Prosecco with White Peach Purée, St.-Germain, Jalapeño, and Mint Simple Syrup
  • Brunch

    • Warm Lobster Salad with Frisée, Fingerling Potatoes, Lardons, and Smoked Shallot Vinaigrette    
    • Paul Jaboulet Aîné Secret de Famille Viognier 2010
    • Roasted Wild Mushrooms with Smoked Ricotta, Red Wine Gastrique, Grilled Red Wine Bread, and Sunny-Side-Up Duck Egg
    • Red Newt Cellars Circle Label Riesling 2010
    • Foie Gras–Duck Confit Croque Madame with Maple Syrup Gastrique
    • Calina Carménère Reserve 2010
    • Chocolate Bread Pudding with Salted Caramel and Ginger Cream
    • Lemon Meringue Cocktail > Lemoncello with Domaine de Canton Ginger Liqueur, Lemon Juice, and Frothed Egg Whites

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sun, 01.27.2013
  • 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $80 / General Public $95
  • Call 212.627.2308 to reserve
 
 
 

February 2013

S M T W T F S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Italian Winter Luncheon Fri, 02.01.2013
 
Bold German Cuisine Sat, 02.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
 
Dreaming of Mexico Mon, 02.04.2013
 
The Art of the Chef Tue, 02.05.2013
 
 
Nantucket Seascape Thu, 02.07.2013
 
Farmland Feast Fri, 02.08.2013
 
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Valentine’s Tea Sun, 02.10.2013
 
 
Mardi Gras Decadence Tue, 02.12.2013
 
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Savoring New Mexico Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Winter Garden Thu, 02.21.2013
 
The Cult of Napa Fri, 02.22.2013
 
Joie de Vivre Sat, 02.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
Tampa, FL Sun, 02.24.2013
 
Treasures of Abruzzo Mon, 02.25.2013
 
 
American Elegance Tue, 02.26.2013
 
Kentucky Spirit Wed, 02.27.2013
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam