Chefs Sang Yoon, Hooni Kim, Pichet Ong, and their team in the Beard House kitchen
Pickled Herring with Grilled Spring Onions, Lemon, and Fermented Chilies
Mongolian Lamb Tartare with MaLa Flavors, Preserved Chilies, and Cumin
Foie Gras Ganache with Ceylon Cinnamon and Tamarind Gastrique
Cured Hawaiian Butterfish with Nahm Jim Thai Sauce, Chilies, and Pickled Watermelon Radishes
Beef and Broccoli > 48-Hour Prime Short Ribs with Puffed Tendon, Gai Lan Chinese Broccoli, and Black Bean Ghee
Stinky Miso Stew with Korean Chili Peppers and Tofu
White Miso Semifreddo with Olive Oil Cake, Raspberries, and Wasabi Candy
Dinner

Salute to Asian Spice

Sang Yoon
Father’s Office and Lukshon, Los Angeles

Hooni Kim
Danji, NYC

Pastry Chef Pichet Ong
Coppelia, La Esquina, Max Brenner and Qi Bangkok Eatery, NYC

In partnership with the LUCKYRICE Festival

What’s hotter than chef Hooni Kim of NYC’s Michelin-starred Danji and Sang Yoon of L.A.’s impossible-to-get-into Father’s Office and Lukshon? The spicy meal these two deeply talented chefs will cook together, drawing from the most boldly flavored cuisines throughout the Asian diaspora and accompanied by desserts from renowned pastry chef Pichet Ong.

Event photos by Tom Kirkman.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Pickled Herring with Grilled Spring Onions, Lemon, and Fermented Chilies
    • Spicy Baby Octopus
    • Foie Gras Ganache with Ceylon Cinnamon and Tamarind Gastrique
    • Mongolian Lamb Tartare with MaLa Flavors, Preserved Chilies, and Cumin
    • Dragon Cocktail > Bombay Sapphire East with Dragon Fruit–Pomegranate Juice, Cinnamon Simple Syrup, Lemon Juice, Bitters, and Dragon Fruit Garnish
    • Gin Blossom Cocktail > Lavender Tea–Infused Bombay Sapphire East with Pimm’s, Domaine de Canton Ginger Liqueur, Lemon Juice, Bittercube Orange Bitters, and Ginger Peel Garnish
  • Dinner

    • Cured Hawaiian Butterfish with Nahm Jim Thai Sauce, Chilies, and Pickled Watermelon Radishes
    • Beef and Broccoli > 48-Hour Prime Short Ribs with Puffed Tendon, Gai Lan Chinese Broccoli, and Black Bean Ghee
    • Stinky Miso Stew with Korean Chili Peppers and Tofu
    • White Miso Semifreddo with Olive Oil Cake, Raspberries, and Wasabi Candy
    • Wines generously provided by Wines of Germany.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Thu, 05.03.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2013

S M T W T F S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Italian Winter Luncheon Fri, 02.01.2013
 
Bold German Cuisine Sat, 02.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
 
Dreaming of Mexico Mon, 02.04.2013
 
The Art of the Chef Tue, 02.05.2013
 
 
Nantucket Seascape Thu, 02.07.2013
 
Farmland Feast Fri, 02.08.2013
 
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Valentine’s Tea Sun, 02.10.2013
 
 
Mardi Gras Decadence Tue, 02.12.2013
 
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Savoring New Mexico Wed, 02.20.2013
 
Winter Garden Thu, 02.21.2013
 
The Cult of Napa Fri, 02.22.2013
 
Joie de Vivre Sat, 02.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
Tampa, FL Sun, 02.24.2013
 
Treasures of Abruzzo Mon, 02.25.2013
 
 
American Elegance Tue, 02.26.2013
 
Kentucky Spirit Wed, 02.27.2013
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam

 

Sponsors:

LUCKYRICE Festival

Wines of Germany