Friends of James Beard Benefit Dinner

Tampa, FL

All restaurants, unless otherwise noted, are located in Tampa, FL.

Host Chef Chad Johnson
SideBern's

Greg Baker
The Refinery

Marty Blitz
Mise en Place

Tyson Grant
Parkshore Grill, St. Petersburg, FL

Zack Gross
Z Grille, St. Petersburg, FL

Habteab Hamde
Bern’s Steak House

BT Nguyen
Restaurant BT

Kim Yelvington
Bern’s Steak House and Harry Waugh Dessert Room

Join host chef Chad Johnson and a carefully culled group of his esteemed colleagues for a taste of Florida's finest talent at this special Friends of James Beard Benefit, where a delectable menu of seasonal, ingredient-driven New American cuisine will be served.

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d'Oeuvre:

    • Deviled Eggs with Lobster and Smoked Caviar
    • Foie Gras Sliders with Jalapeño Jam
    • Pacific Oysters with Uni Emulsion and Pickled Watermelon Radishes
    • Parmesan Panna Cotta with Wagyu Beef Carpaccio, Arugula, and Smoked Sea Salt
  • Dinner:

    • Tuna Tai Chanh with Hawaiian Hearts of Palm, Micro-Arugula, and Passion Fruit–Champagne Vinaigrette
    • Sturgeon Confit with Anson Mills Grits, Clam and Benton’s Smoked Ham Broth, Roasted Watermelon Radishes, Red Mizuna, Whey, and Sorrel
    • Duck Ballotine with Goat’s Milk Camembert, Root Vegetables, Truffles, and Vadouvan Granola
    • 75-Day-Dry-Aged Delmonico Steak with Bone Marrow–Black Trumpet Flan, Fingerling Potatoes, Asparagus, and Black Trumpet–Cabernet Reduction
    • Buffalo Short Ribs with Wild Boar Bacon, Kabocha Squash, and Royal Trumpet Posole; Celery Root, Orange, and Pepita Salad; and Ancho Chili, Black Garlic, and Sage Jus
    • Pistachio Praline with Caramelized Pistachios, Valrhona Nyangbo Chocolate Crème, and Pistachio–Chocolate Macaron
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sun, 02.24.2013
  • 6:00 PM
  • SideBern's map
  • Members $175 / General Public $200
  • Call 813.250.9463 to reserve
 
 
 

January 2013

S M T W T F S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
 
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Wed, 01.02.2013
 
 
 
 
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
 
 
 
 
 
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
 
 
High-Voltage Cuisine Tue, 01.15.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 01.16.2013
 
New England Bounty Wed, 01.16.2013
 
Chicago Thu, 01.17.2013
 
Neighborhood Gem Thu, 01.17.2013
 
 
Jazz at Lincoln Center Sat, 01.19.2013
 
Richmond, VA Sat, 01.19.2013
 
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Jackson, MS Sun, 01.20.2013
 
 
 
Black Truffle Celebration Wed, 01.23.2013
 
 
Beaver Creek, CO Fri, 01.25.2013
 
 
Love, Umbrian Style Sat, 01.26.2013
 
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Midwinter Brunch Sun, 01.27.2013
 
Inspired New England Mon, 01.28.2013
 
Le Bec Fin’s Next Chapter Tue, 01.29.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 01.30.2013
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 01.30.2013
 
Francis’s Favorites Thu, 01.31.2013
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam