Friends of James Beard Benefit Dinner

Tampa, FL

All restaurants, unless otherwise noted, are located in Tampa, FL.

Host Chef Chad Johnson
SideBern's

Greg Baker
The Refinery

Marty Blitz
Mise en Place

Tyson Grant
Parkshore Grill, St. Petersburg, FL

Zack Gross
Z Grille, St. Petersburg, FL

Habteab Hamde
Bern’s Steak House

BT Nguyen
Restaurant BT

Kim Yelvington
Bern’s Steak House and Harry Waugh Dessert Room

Join host chef Chad Johnson and a carefully culled group of his esteemed colleagues for a taste of Florida's finest talent at this special Friends of James Beard Benefit, where a delectable menu of seasonal, ingredient-driven New American cuisine will be served.

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d'Oeuvre:

    • Deviled Eggs with Lobster and Smoked Caviar
    • Foie Gras Sliders with Jalapeño Jam
    • Pacific Oysters with Uni Emulsion and Pickled Watermelon Radishes
    • Parmesan Panna Cotta with Wagyu Beef Carpaccio, Arugula, and Smoked Sea Salt
  • Dinner:

    • Tuna Tai Chanh with Hawaiian Hearts of Palm, Micro-Arugula, and Passion Fruit–Champagne Vinaigrette
    • Sturgeon Confit with Anson Mills Grits, Clam and Benton’s Smoked Ham Broth, Roasted Watermelon Radishes, Red Mizuna, Whey, and Sorrel
    • Duck Ballotine with Goat’s Milk Camembert, Root Vegetables, Truffles, and Vadouvan Granola
    • 75-Day-Dry-Aged Delmonico Steak with Bone Marrow–Black Trumpet Flan, Fingerling Potatoes, Asparagus, and Black Trumpet–Cabernet Reduction
    • Buffalo Short Ribs with Wild Boar Bacon, Kabocha Squash, and Royal Trumpet Posole; Celery Root, Orange, and Pepita Salad; and Ancho Chili, Black Garlic, and Sage Jus
    • Pistachio Praline with Caramelized Pistachios, Valrhona Nyangbo Chocolate Crème, and Pistachio–Chocolate Macaron
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sun, 02.24.2013
  • 6:00 PM
  • SideBern's map
  • Members $175 / General Public $200
  • Call 813.250.9463 to reserve
 
 
 

March 2013

S M T W T F S
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Fri, 03.01.2013
 
The Berkshire Cure-All Fri, 03.01.2013
 
Toast of Atlanta Sat, 03.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Great Neighborhood Brunch Sun, 03.03.2013
 
Philippe Chin and Friends Mon, 03.04.2013
 
Ode to Local Tue, 03.05.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Coastal Cuisine Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Mid-Atlantic Mediterranean Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Beach Fare and Cocktails Fri, 03.08.2013
 
Big Beef, Big Red Sat, 03.09.2013
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
 
Ooh La l’Amour Mon, 03.11.2013
 
From Scratch Sessions Tue, 03.12.2013
 
From Garden to Table Tue, 03.12.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Latin Road Home Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Beauty of Basilicata Thu, 03.14.2013
 
Modern Chinese Fri, 03.15.2013
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
Charleston, SC Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Culinary Whimsy Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Norouz: Persian New Year Tue, 03.19.2013
 
A Taste of Korea Wed, 03.20.2013
 
Bay Area Brasserie Thu, 03.21.2013
 
Innovative Seafood Fri, 03.22.2013
 
Sophisticated French Sat, 03.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
Second Night Passover Seder Tue, 03.26.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.27.2013
 
¡Viva Pensacola! Wed, 03.27.2013
 
 
Chic Italian Luncheon Fri, 03.29.2013
 
 
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Awards