Chef John Varanese and his team in the Beard House kitchen
Fox Hollow Farm Biodynamic Beef–Stuffed Grape Leaves
Fried Manchester Farms Quail with Toasted Mustard Seed Emulsion
Farmland House-Cured Ham with Sweet Potato Biscuits and Kentucky Honey
Dungeness Crab–Stuffed Avocados
Triple Crown Mint Julep with Four Roses and Wild Boar-Infused Root Beer
Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Capriole Farm Goat Cheese Cake with Pecan Crust, Savory Brioche Crostini, Red Apple Vinaigrette, and Grateful Greens Microgreens
Seared Nantucket Lightship Sea Scallops and Kentucky Paddlefish Caviar with Butternut Squash Bisque and Crispy Plantains
Game Bird Sausage on Dried Blueberry Waffle with Lavender-Infused Sorghum and Fried Quail Egg
Trio > Crispy Farmland Pork Belly with Tasso Ham Grits and Corn–Butter Sauce; Espresso Lollipop Marcho Farms Lamb Chop with Lamb–Sweet Potato Hash and Caramel Reduction; and Grilled Kentucky Bison Rib-Eye with Marrow Pudding and Herb Compound Butter
Toasted Marshmallow–Toffee Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce and Caramel–Sea Salt Ice Cream
Dinner

A Touch of the South

John Varanese

Varanese, Louisville, KY

Louisville chef John Varanese is known for his dedication to local farmers, many of whom he profiles as host and producer of the television show. For his Beard House premiere, the chef will showcase his favorite organic and sustainable ingredients in a Southern-influenced Mediterranean menu with biodynamic wine pairings from Grgich Hills Estate.

Event photos taken by Philip Gross

Related Info:

Related Links
Varanese

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre
    • Dungeness Crab–Stuffed Avocados
    • Fox Hollow Farm Biodynamic Beef–Stuffed Grape Leaves
    • Farmland House-Cured Ham with Sweet Potato Biscuits and Kentucky Honey
    • Zesty Fried Brussels Sprouts
    • Fried Manchester Farms Quail with Toasted Mustard Seed Emulsion
    • Triple Crown Mint Julep With Wild Boar–Infused Root Beer
  • Dinner
    • Capriole Farm Goat Cheese Cake with Pecan Crust, Savory Brioche Crostini, Red Apple Vinaigrette, and Grateful Greens Microgreens
    • Grgich Hills Estate Fumé Blanc 2008
    • Seared Nantucket Lightship Sea Scallops and Kentucky Paddlefish Caviar with Butternut Squash Bisque and Crispy Plantains
    • Grgich Hills Estate Chardonnay 2008
    • Game Bird Sausage on Dried Blueberry Waffle with Lavender-Infused Sorghum and Fried Quail Egg
    • Grgich Hills Estate Merlot 2007
    • Trio > Crispy Farmland Pork Belly with Tasso Ham Grits and Corn–Butter Sauce; Espresso Lollipop Marcho Farms Lamb Chop with Lamb–Sweet Potato Hash and Caramel Reduction; and Grilled Kentucky Bison Rib-Eye with Marrow Pudding and Herb Compound Butter
    • Grgich Hills Estate Cabernet Sauvignon 2007
    • Toasted Marshmallow–Toffee Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce and Caramel–Sea Salt Ice Cream
    • Grgich Hills Estate Violetta 2008
    • Red Hot Roasters Coffee

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Tue, 03.13.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

October 2012

S M T W T F S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Autumn Splendor Mon, 10.01.2012
 
30 Years of the Water Club Tue, 10.02.2012
 
A Spoonful of Paradise Wed, 10.03.2012
 
Sexy New American Cuisine Thu, 10.04.2012
 
West Hollywood, CA Thu, 10.04.2012
 
Palmaz Wine Lovers' Dinner Sat, 10.06.2012
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 10.10.2012
 
Sunshine State Celebration Wed, 10.10.2012
 
 
Día de la Raza Fri, 10.12.2012
 
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
Southern Flair Mon, 10.15.2012
 
Enlightened Eaters Tue, 10.16.2012
 
That's Amore Tue, 10.16.2012
 
2012 JBF Food Conference Wed, 10.17.2012
 
2012 JBF Leadership Awards Wed, 10.17.2012
 
Bohemian European Wed, 10.17.2012
 
Taste of Panama Thu, 10.18.2012
 
Minneapolis Thu, 10.18.2012
 
Empire State Rising Star Fri, 10.19.2012
 
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Jean-Louis Palladin Dinner Sun, 10.21.2012
 
Kickstart Your Cookbook Mon, 10.22.2012
 
Taste of the Hudson Valley Mon, 10.22.2012
 
American Classic Tue, 10.23.2012
 
Historic Elegance Wed, 10.24.2012
 
Atlantic Beach, FL Thu, 10.25.2012
 
Canada's Top Chefs Thu, 10.25.2012
 
 
Winter Park, FL Fri, 10.26.2012
 
Contemporary Chianti Dinner Sat, 10.27.2012
 
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Atlanta Sun, 10.28.2012
 
Ooh La L'amour Mon, 10.29.2012
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam