James Beard Awards Season is Here.

Be the first to know about breaking Awards news and more by signing up for our Awards newsletter

Watch the James Beard Awards Gala Live on May 1!


James Beard Award News

See the 2017 James Beard Media Award winners!

Meet the 2017 James Beard Award nominees! 

JBF has announced the 2017 Restaurant and Chef Award semifinalists. Learn more.

The 2017 James Beard Awards Gala, hosted by Jesse Tyler Ferguson of ABC's award-winning Modern Family, will take place on Monday, May 1, at the Lyric Opera of Chicago. The 2017 Media Awards (formerly known as the Book, Broadcast & Journalism Awards) will be hosted by JBF Award winner Andrew Zimmern and held on Tuesday, April 25, at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers in New York City. The Awards will celebrate the thrilling ways that technology has strengthened our connections through food, from the blog post that sparks a trend, to the Instagrams that inspire us, and the shared images that become our portal to cuisine from far afield.

James Beard Awards Gala

Monday, May 1, 2017
Lyric Opera of Chicago 
20 North Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago 
Awards Ceremony: 6:00 P.M. 
Black-tie attire
After the ceremony, enjoy a walk-around tasting from past JBF Award winners and nominees
Purchase tickets

James Beard Awards Gala VIP Experience

Includes an exclusive pre-Awards reception, a sit-down dinner during the ceremony, and a reception featuring a walk-around tasting from past JBF Award winners and nominees. Learn more!

Choose Chicago Illinois Restaurants Mariano's Illinois HMS Host CDA True S.Pellegrino American Airlines All-Clad Lavazza

For the full list of the 2017 Awards sponsors, please click here.

The 2016 James Beard Awards

See our full list of 2016 winners. The 2016 James Beard Awards Gala was hosted by Carla Hall, while the 2016 JBF Book, Broadcast & Journalism Awards were hosted by Ming Tsai.

See photos from the 2016 James Beard Awards Gala in Chicago. See the complete lists of our 2016 James Beard Award nominees and Restaurant and Chef Award semifinalists


Search for past Beard Award winners here.