Stories /

Awards Watch: Journalism Awards



May 02, 2010


We'll leave you with this year's Journalism Award winners—we're off to SD26 for Chefs' Night Out and a bit of revelry. See you back here at 5:00 P.M. tomorrow!

Newspaper Feature Writing About Restaurants and/or Chefs: Jared Jacang Maher, Westword, “A Hunger to Help”

Newspaper Feature Writing: Cliff Doerksen, Chicago Reader, “The Real American Pie”

Food-Related Columns: Rachel Wharton, Edible Brooklyn, Column: Back of the House

Newspaper Food Section: The Washington Post, Joe Yonan

Reporting on Health, Environment, or Nutrition: Rowan Jacobsen, EatingWell, “…Or Not to Bee”

Writing on Spirits, Wine, or Beer: Dara Moskowitz Grumdahl, Minnesota Monthly, “Chardonnay Uncorked”

Multimedia Food Feature: Kevin Pang,, “The Cheeseburger Show”

Website Focusing on Food, Beverage, Restaurants, or Nutrition:

Food Blog: Serious Eats

Magazine Feature Writing with Recipes: Francine Maroukian, Jon Reiner, and Staff of Esquire, “How Men Eat”

Magazine Feature Writing without Recipes: Barry Estabrook, Gourmet, “The Price of Tomatoes”

Magazine Feature Writing About Restaurants and/or Chefs: Anya von Bremzen, Saveur, “Soul of a City”

Craig Claiborne Distinguished Restaurant Reviews: Jonathan Gold, LA Weekly

M.F.K. Fisher Distinguished Writing Award: Francine Prose, Saveur, “Faith and Bacon”

Cookbook of the Year: The Country Cooking of Ireland by Colman Andrews