Announcements and Updates

Watch the 2020 James Beard Awards broadcast. The event celebrated previously announced honorees and shined a spotlight on many of the restaurant and chef nominees. It was a night of storytelling surrounding the historic challenges this community faces and how we can work together to rebuild a stronger and more equitable restaurant industry. 

Recent James Beard Awards News

  • For features and stories related to the James Beard Awards click here
  • Read about the 2020 James Beard Awards broadcast or watch the full event here.
  • The Foundation has made the decision to forgo its traditional Awards presentation in 2021, including the Restaurant and Chef Awards, Media Awards, and Restaurant Design Awards. We will not be accepting recommendations or submission for the upcoming year. Throughout this next year, we will be working with the Awards Committee and Subcommittees to overhaul the policies and procedures for the Awards. The objectives are to remove any systemic bias, increase the diversity of the pool of candidates, maintain relevance, and align the Awards more outwardly with the Foundation's values of equity, sustainability, and excellence for the restaurant industry.
  • Together with the James Beard Awards Design Committee we've announced the 2020 Outstanding Restaurant Design honorees: Heliotrope Architects for design of Rupee; Klein Agency and ORA for the design of auburn; and Lori Chemla for the design of Carissa's the Bakery
  • Click here to read why we are not announcing the remaining 2020 Restaurant and Chef Award Winners and further changes for 2021.
  • View recordings of past Media Awards at Home series conversations here.
  • Check out the full list of 2020 Media Award winners. 
  • Congratulations to the 2020 James Beard Award nominees. Check that out the announcement broadcast here.
  • Click here for the 2020 Semifinalists for Restaurant and Chef.
  • Awards regions have been readjusted to recognize culinary excellence all over the country.


Please stay tuned for updates.



Capital OneAmerican Lavazza S. PellegrinoWalmart Capital One Deloitte Grace Communications Oatly! Illinois Restaurant Association Choose National Restaurant Association Skuna Bay White Claw Ecolab Front of the House Kendall College Intersport Verterra Chateau d'Esclans Choose Chicago Illinois Restaurant Association