Stories / Impact

Announcing the 2017 Leadership Award Recipients

JBF Editors

June 21, 2017


Today we’re pleased to announce the recipients of the seventh annual James Beard Foundation Leadership Awards. Co-hosted by Good Housekeeping, with founding support from the GRACE Communications Foundation, the awards spotlight the important and complex realms of sustainability, food access, and public health by recognizing visionaries across a broad range of backgrounds who influence how, why, and what we eat.

 “Our Foundation is honored to recognize this year’s six honorees,” said Susan Ungaro, president of the James Beard Foundation. “The 2017 Leadership Award recipients are pioneers in their areas of work, including reducing food waste, environmental protection, local and national advocacy, and workplace safety. Their passion and vision are helping to make our food world healthier, safer, and more sustainable.” 

The JBF Leadership Awards will take place on October 23 at a dinner ceremony at Hearst Tower. The ceremony will be part of the James Beard Foundation’s eighth annual Food Summit, themed Consuming Power, taking place on October 23 and 24 in New York City. For event information or to purchase tickets, please contact Bowen & Company at 914.231.6180 or 

2017 James Beard Foundation Leadership Award Recipients 

Dan Barber 
Chef and Author 
For his work in blending the dining and educational experience to reduce waste, improve food taste and sustainability, and promote a soil-to-table approach. 

Olivier De Schutter 
Co-chair, International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems and Former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food 
For his research and work in redesigning a sustainable food system on the local, national, and global level. 

Joan Dye Gussow 
Professor, Author, Food Policy Expert and Environmentalist 
For her pioneering advocacy of sustainable, healthy food production and for her work as an author, educator, and food policy expert. 

Joann Lo and Jose Oliva 
Co-Directors, Food Chain Workers Alliance 
For their dedication to improving the lives and communities of food system workers and their families. 

The Honorable Chellie Pingree 
Member of Congress, Maine’s First Congressional District 
For her support of national policies that promote healthy food, local and regional food systems, and organic agriculture. 


Learn more about the JBF Leadership Awards. Read the full press release here