Stories / Awards

The 2024 James Beard Award Winners

JBF Editors

June 10, 2024


Best New Restaurant winner Dakar NOLA (Photo: Galdones Photography/JBF)

Here are the winners of the 2024 James Beard Foundation Restaurant and Chef Awards presented by Capital One. This year's winners were announced Monday, June 10 at the Lyric Opera of Chicago. Congratulations to all!


Outstanding Chef presented by Hilton

Michael Rafidi, Albi, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Restaurant Presented by Acqua Panna® Natural Spring Water

Langbaan, Portland, OR

Best New Restaurant presented by Clover from Fiserv

Dakar NOLA, New Orleans, LA

Outstanding Restaurateur

Erika Whitaker and Kelly Whitaker, ID EST (The Wolf's Tailor, BRUTØ, Basta, and others), Boulder, CO

Emerging Chef presented by S.Pellegrino® Sparkling Natural Mineral Water

Masako Morishita, Perry's, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Bakery

ZU Bakery, Portland, ME

Outstanding Pastry Chef or Baker

Atsuko Fujimoto, Norimoto Bakery, Portland, ME

Outstanding Hospitality presented by American Airlines

Lula Cafe, Chicago, IL

Outstanding Wine and Other Beverages Program

Lula Drake Wine Parlour, Columbia, SC  

Outstanding Bar

Jewel of the South, New Orleans, LA  

Best Chefs presented by Capital One (by region)

Best Chef: California

Lord Maynard Llera, Kuya Lord, Los Angeles, CA

Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH)

Hajime Sato, Sozai, Clawson, MI

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA)

Harley Peet, Bas Rouge, Easton, MD

Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI)

Christina Nguyen, Hai Hai, Minneapolis, MN

Best Chef: Mountain (CO, ID, MT, UT, WY)

Matt Vawter, Rootstalk, Breckenridge, CO

Best Chef: New York State

Charlie Mitchell, Clover Hill, Brooklyn, NY

Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)

David Standridge, The Shipwright's Daughter, Mystic, CT

Best Chef: Northwest and Pacific (AK, HI, OR, WA)

Gregory Gourdet, kann, Portland, OR

Best Chef: South (AL, AR, FL, LA, MS, PR)

Valerie Chang, Maty's, Miami, FL

Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV)  

Paul Smith, 1010 Bridge, Charleston, WV

Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, NM, NV, OK)

Rene Andrade, Bacanora, Phoenix, AZ

Best Chef: Texas

Ana Liz Pulido, Ana Liz Taqueria, Mission, TX


Miss the Awards ceremonies? Rewatch the livestream for the Media Awards and Restaurant and Chef Awards now!

Want to be the first to know about Beard Awards news? Subscribe to the James Beard Awards newsletter.


French Bloom Champagne Laurent-Perrier Cristaux Champagne Drappier Ecolab Plugra Stella Artois Heinz Capital One Tito's Paperchase Windstar CDA Clover Hilton American Airlines Eli's Illinois Restaurant Association Choose Chicago Hexclad Intersport Acqua Panna S. Pellegrino HMS Host Champagne Leclerc Briant Skuna Bay Kendall Gollege Zacapa Mijenta Los Magos Sotol Hendrick's Gin Castle & Key Wölffer Estate Naidu Justin Ritual Verterra