Spike Gjerde and his team at the James Beard House
Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash
Behind the scenes in the James Beard House kitchen
7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
Spike Gjerde at the James Beard House
Dinner

Chesapeake Bounty

Spike Gjerde

Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore

Tucked away in a hundred-year-old former mill, Woodberry Kitchen is a prominent staple of the Mid-Atlantic locavore movement. Maryland native Spike Gjerde crafts his delectably rustic dishes with an unwavering commitment to the abundance of the Chesapeake landscape that has kept his tables packed with epicureans from Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and beyond.

Event photos taken by Krishna Dayahini. 

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre    

    • Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
    • Clam Fritters
    • Barley Nixtamal
    • Country Ham
    • Upscale Coddies
    • Farmer’s Five Minutes > Maryland-Style Rye Whiskey with Candied Maryland Ginger, Cherries, Garret County Maple, and House Bitters
    • Mason-Jarred New York Sour > New York State Gin, Black Ankle Vineyards Verjus, Summer Preserves, House Cordial, and Maryland Red Wine
  • Dinner

    • Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
    • Old Westminster Winery Albariño 2012
    • Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash 
    • Union Craft Brewing Harvest Beer
    • 7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
    • Pickle Back > New York State Local Rye and Corn Whiskey with Hand-Carved Ice and Pickle Juice
    • Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
    • Black Ankle Vineyards Rolling Hills 2012
    • Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
    • Wiemer Late Harvest Riesling 2012

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 09.30.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
The Mighty Virginia Shack Mon, 02.02.2015
 
Michelin Star Wed, 02.04.2015
 
Taste of the North Fork Thu, 02.05.2015
 
 
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
I Heart Brunch Sun, 02.08.2015
 
True Tuscan Soul Tue, 02.10.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.11.2015
 
Washington, D.C. Wed, 02.11.2015
 
Urban Farmhouse Wed, 02.11.2015
 
The Butcher and the Chef Thu, 02.12.2015
 
 
Napa Valley Love Story Sat, 02.14.2015
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
 
Eye on Atlanta Wed, 02.18.2015
 
 
Jazz at Lincoln Center Fri, 02.20.2015
 
Big Easy, Southern Style Fri, 02.20.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 02.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
Belgian Chic Mon, 02.23.2015
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.25.2015
 
East End Elegance Thu, 02.26.2015
 
Empire State Feast Fri, 02.27.2015
 
JBF Kitchen Cam