Spike Gjerde and his team at the James Beard House
Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash
Behind the scenes in the James Beard House kitchen
7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
Spike Gjerde at the James Beard House
Dinner

Chesapeake Bounty

Spike Gjerde

Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore

Tucked away in a hundred-year-old former mill, Woodberry Kitchen is a prominent staple of the Mid-Atlantic locavore movement. Maryland native Spike Gjerde crafts his delectably rustic dishes with an unwavering commitment to the abundance of the Chesapeake landscape that has kept his tables packed with epicureans from Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and beyond.

Event photos taken by Krishna Dayahini. 

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre    

    • Chicken Hearts with Homemade Catsup
    • Clam Fritters
    • Barley Nixtamal
    • Country Ham
    • Upscale Coddies
    • Farmer’s Five Minutes > Maryland-Style Rye Whiskey with Candied Maryland Ginger, Cherries, Garret County Maple, and House Bitters
    • Mason-Jarred New York Sour > New York State Gin, Black Ankle Vineyards Verjus, Summer Preserves, House Cordial, and Maryland Red Wine
  • Dinner

    • Oysters and Snow > Chesapeake Bay Oysters with Shaved Ice
    • Old Westminster Winery Albariño 2012
    • Three Sisters > Corn, Beans, and Squash 
    • Union Craft Brewing Harvest Beer
    • 7.21.13 > A Day’s Snapshot of Pickled and Preserved Summer Harvest
    • Pickle Back > New York State Local Rye and Corn Whiskey with Hand-Carved Ice and Pickle Juice
    • Aitchbone Snack and Grain > Aged Beef with Local Grains
    • Black Ankle Vineyards Rolling Hills 2012
    • Pawpaw and Company > Pawpaw Ice Cream with Seasonal Fruit and Jam
    • Wiemer Late Harvest Riesling 2012

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 09.30.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

April 2016

S M T W T F S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Vail, CO Fri, 04.01.2016
 
Taste of Tuscany Fri, 04.01.2016
 
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
 
 
San Juan Sizzle Tue, 04.05.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 04.06.2016
 
NYC Wed, 04.06.2016
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 04.08.2016
 
French Flair Fri, 04.08.2016
 
Celebrate Harlem Sat, 04.09.2016
 
Orlando, FL Sat, 04.09.2016
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
 
East Coast Revival Mon, 04.11.2016
 
Boston Tue, 04.12.2016
 
 
 
Virginia Spring Supper Thu, 04.14.2016
 
 
Taste of Charlotte Sat, 04.16.2016
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
Small Towns, Big Flavors Mon, 04.18.2016
 
Beltane in the Berkshires Tue, 04.19.2016
 
Charleston, SC Wed, 04.20.2016
 
French Elegance Wed, 04.20.2016
 
 
Dayton, OR Sat, 04.23.2016
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
Maine Farmhouse Supper Mon, 04.25.2016
 
 
 
Nashville Thu, 04.28.2016
 
Progressive Mexican Thu, 04.28.2016
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam