Michael DeFonzo at the Beard House
John Greeley at the Beard House
Billy Oliva at the Beard House
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Oysters
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Clams
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Shrimp
Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
Old Fashioneds in the James Beard Dining Room
Special Event

Mad About Mad Men

Don Draper’s brooding gaze and chiseled features aren’t the only appeal of AMC’s hit series Mad Men; after watching this last season, we’re hankering for the indulgent oyster-and-three-martini lunches of yore. Join us at the Beard House for a festive walk-around cocktail party featuring beverages and bites inspired by the show, crafted by historical venues from 1960s-era New York City. Vintage attire encouraged!

*Please note special time.

Michael DeFonzo 
PJ Clarke's, NYC, Las Vegas, Washington D.C., and São Paulo, Brazil

John Greeley
'21' Club, NYC

Sandy Ingber
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant, NYC

Billy Oliva
Delmonico's, NYC

Bill Rodgers
Keens Steakhouse, NYC

Special Guests: 
Co-Authors Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin
The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook

MENU

  • Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar with Oysters, Clams, Shrimp Cocktail, and Bloody Mary Oyster Shooters

    • Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
    • P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
    • The Classic Waldorf Salad
    • Crispy Parmesan Tater Tots with Sir Kensington Classic Ketchup
    • Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
    • ‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
    • Fabulous Rum Balls
    •  
    • Old-Fashioneds
    • Classic Martinis
    • Side Car Cocktails
    • South Side Cocktails
    • French 75 Champagne Cocktails 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 09.11.2013
  • 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $100 / General Public $125
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam