Michael DeFonzo at the Beard House
John Greeley at the Beard House
Billy Oliva at the Beard House
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Oysters
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Clams
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Shrimp
Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
Old Fashioneds in the James Beard Dining Room
Special Event

Mad About Mad Men

Don Draper’s brooding gaze and chiseled features aren’t the only appeal of AMC’s hit series Mad Men; after watching this last season, we’re hankering for the indulgent oyster-and-three-martini lunches of yore. Join us at the Beard House for a festive walk-around cocktail party featuring beverages and bites inspired by the show, crafted by historical venues from 1960s-era New York City. Vintage attire encouraged!

*Please note special time.

Michael DeFonzo 
PJ Clarke's, NYC, Las Vegas, Washington D.C., and São Paulo, Brazil

John Greeley
'21' Club, NYC

Sandy Ingber
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant, NYC

Billy Oliva
Delmonico's, NYC

Bill Rodgers
Keens Steakhouse, NYC

Special Guests: 
Co-Authors Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin
The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook

MENU

  • Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar with Oysters, Clams, Shrimp Cocktail, and Bloody Mary Oyster Shooters

    • Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
    • P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
    • The Classic Waldorf Salad
    • Crispy Parmesan Tater Tots with Sir Kensington Classic Ketchup
    • Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
    • ‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
    • Fabulous Rum Balls
    •  
    • Old-Fashioneds
    • Classic Martinis
    • Side Car Cocktails
    • South Side Cocktails
    • French 75 Champagne Cocktails 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 09.11.2013
  • 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $100 / General Public $125
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

September 2015

S M T W T F S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
 
 
 
Best of Brennan’s Wed, 09.09.2015
 
Cambridge Cookout Thu, 09.10.2015
 
Denver Fri, 09.11.2015
 
Columbus Calling Fri, 09.11.2015
 
Pinstripes and Prime Steaks Sat, 09.12.2015
 
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
 
 
Summer’s End Farm Feast Tue, 09.15.2015
 
A Brooklyn Backyard Supper Wed, 09.16.2015
 
Denver Five Wed, 09.16.2015
 
Taste America: Miami Fri, 09.18.2015
 
D.C. Casual Luxury Fri, 09.18.2015
 
Venice on a Plate Sat, 09.19.2015
 
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Philadelphia Sun, 09.20.2015
 
A Taste of Singapore Mon, 09.21.2015
 
Grand Wine, Grand Feast Mon, 09.21.2015
 
 
 
Boulder Bounty Thu, 09.24.2015
 
Taste America: Phoenix Fri, 09.25.2015
 
Inventive Italian Fri, 09.25.2015
 
Jewish Deli Inspiration Sat, 09.26.2015
 
Taste America: Charleston Sat, 09.26.2015
 
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
 
Kansas City, MO Mon, 09.28.2015
 
Bend, OR Mon, 09.28.2015
 
Bend, OR Mon, 09.28.2015
 
Delaware Artisan Tue, 09.29.2015
 
Bend, OR Mon, 09.28.2015
 
Danville, CA Wed, 09.30.2015
 
Taste of Jackson Hole Wed, 09.30.2015
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam