Makoto Okuwa and his team at the Beard House
Maguro with Parmesan Cheese Awa on Arare Rice Crackers
Mushroom Duxelles with Seiyoushouro Truffles and Umami Cream
Checkerboard Sushi with Wasabi and Popped Prosciutto
Makoto Okuwa carrying a tray of his Checkerboard Sushi
Aigamo Duck Breast with Sake Foie Gras and Blueberry Velvet Smoked Cloud
Scallops Maelstrom with Edible Sand, Crispy Seaweed, Sea Beans, Naruto Squid, and Pickled Jellyfish
Shoka No Takiawase Vegetables with Black Garlic Soil
Wagyu Beef Arroser with Ash Onions and Walnut Bread
Makoto Okuwa garnishing one of his dishes
Chestnut Ice Cream with Yomogi Mochi, Shiratama, and Azuki Bean Soup
Dinner

Modern Japanese

Makoto Okuwa

Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL

Japanese-born Makoto Okuwa began an apprenticeship with a sushi master at the age of 15, a training that led to his later appointment as head sushi chef at Morimoto New York and Morimoto Philadelphia. Now at the helm of his namesake restaurant, Okuwa serves playful but exquisitely crafted cuisine that pays tribute to Japanese tradition.

Event photos taken by F. Martin Ramin.

Related Info:

Makoto
 

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Shizen > Nature 
    • Maguro with Parmesan Cheese Awa on Arare Rice Crackers
    • Mushroom Duxelles with Seiyoushouro Truffles and Umami Cream
    • Checkerboard Sushi with Wasabi and Popped Prosciutto
    • Dassai 50 Junmai Daiginjo Sparkling Nigori Sake
  • Dinner

    • Aosora > Blue Sky
    • Aigamo Duck Breast with Sake Foie Gras and Blueberry Velvet Smoked Cloud
    • Kikusui Funaguchi Honjozo Nama Genshu Sake
    • Umi > Ocean
    • Scallops Maelstrom with Edible Sand, Crispy Seaweed, Sea Beans, Naruto Squid, and Pickled Jellyfish
    • Hakkaisan Junmai Ginjo Sake
    • Hatake > Farm
    • Shoka No Takiawase Vegetables with Black Garlic Soil
    • Ozeno Yukidoke IPA  
    • Yama > Mountain
    • Wagyu Beef Arroser with Ash Onions and Walnut Bread
    • Tengumai Yamahai Junmai Sake
    • Kawa > River
    • Chestnut Ice Cream with Yomogi Mochi, Shiratama, and Azuki Bean Soup
    • Satsuma Shiranami Imo Shochu with Caramel

 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Thu, 06.27.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam