Miguel Angel Guerrero
Pablo Salas
Chad White
Friends of James Beard Benefit Dinner

San Diego

Miguel Angel Guerrero

El Taller and La Querencia, Tijuana, Mexico

Pablo Salas

Amaranta, Toluca, Mexico

Chad White

Plancha Baja Med, San Diego

As part of San Diego's much-anticipated Latin Food Fest, three talented chefs will join forces at this Friends of James Beard Benefit for a spectacular six-course tasting menu that celebrates the increasingly hot food trend Baja Med—the fusion of Mexican, Mediterranean, and Asian flavors, pioneered in Mexico's stunning Baja California peninsula.

For reservations or more information, please call 858.461.1970.

Related Info:

MENU

  • Dinner

    • Lime-Cured Geoduck with Oyster-Coconut Cream, Salmon Roe, Carbonated Lychees, and Mint
    • Pork in Vinegar with Purple Cabbage Salad, Baby Carrots, Olive Oil, Oregano, and Serrano Chiles
    • Sea and Air Tacos > Octopus with Rice Pilaf, Mushrooms, Pumpkin, Ancho Chiles, Squid Ink Aïoli, and Fried Shallots; and Baja Med-Style Marinated Duck Breast with Baby Arugula, Smoked Nine-Chile Sauce, and Candied Almonds
    • Olive Oil-Poached Sculpin with Cactus Juice, Tomatoes, Compressed Pork Rinds, Fried Pork Rinds, Mustard Oil, Olives, and Basil
    • Lamb Two Ways > Grilled Double Lamb Chops with Tarragon Sauce, Fried Parsley, Red Peppers, and Moros y Cristianos Risotto; and Lamb Ravioli with White Sauce, Champagne Reduction, Shiitake and Portobello Mushrooms, and Grilled Cherry Tomatoes
    • Frost Ball > Frozen Nata Sphere with Mexican Crumble
    • A selection of fine wines and spirits will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 09.14.2013
  • 5:30 PM
  • The Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier map
  • Members $95 / General Public $130
  • 858.461.1970
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam