Tim Cushman, Nancy Cushman and their team at the James Beard house
Salmon Sushi with Vietnamese Dashi Caramel and Spicy Rau Rum Salsa
Karikari Crispy Chicken Skin Sushi with Yuzu and Honey–Pickled Ginger and Schmaltz Powder
Hamachi Sushi with Spicy Banana Pepper Mousse
Homemade Fingerling Potato Chip Sushi with Black Truffles
Japan > Kumamoto Oyster with Watermelon Pearls and Cucumber Mignonette
Japan > Shima Aji and Sea Urchin Sashimi with Ceviche Vinaigrette and Cilantro
Italy > Eggplant Involtini with Goat Cheese and San Marzano Tomatoes
Mexico > Crispy Carnitas Tacos with Tomatillos and Jalapeño Salsa Verde
Thailand > Spicy Tom Kar Chicken Soup with Young Coconut
apan and France > Foie Gras Nigiri with Balsamic–Chocolate Kabayaki and Claudio Corallo Raisin–Cocoa Pulp
Dinner

Spring Sake, Global Flavor

Award Winner

Tim Cushman

O Ya, Boston

For a tiny restaurant, O Ya pulls in big praise. It topped Frank Bruni’s list of America’s best new restaurants in 2008, while chef Tim Cushman received our Best Chef: Northeast award last year. This husband-and-wife team is returning to the Beard House with a menu that pairs global flavors with boutique sakes.

Event photos by F. Martin Ramin.

Related Info:

O Ya 

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Salmon Sushi with Vietnamese Dashi Caramel and Spicy Rau Rum Salsa
    • Karikari Crispy Chicken Skin Sushi with Yuzu and Honey–Pickled Ginger and Schmaltz Powder
    • Hamachi Sushi with Spicy Banana Pepper Mousse
    • Homemade Fingerling Potato Chip Sushi with Black Truffles
    • Hou Hou Shu Sparkling Sake
  • Dinner

    • Japan > Kumamoto Oyster with Watermelon Pearls and Cucumber Mignonette
    • Yuki No Bosha Junmai Ginjo Sake
    • Japan > Shima Aji and Sea Urchin Sashimi with Ceviche Vinaigrette and Cilantro
    • Takasago Ginja Shizuku Junmai Daiginjo Sake
    • Italy > Eggplant Involtini with Goat Cheese and San Marzano Tomatoes
    • Shichi Hon Yari Junmai Sake
    • Mexico > Crispy Carnitas Tacos with Tomatillos and Jalapeño Salsa Verde
    • Fukucho Moon on the Water Junmai Ginjo Sake
    • Thailand > Spicy Tom Kar Chicken Soup with Young Coconut
    • Dassai Junmai Daiginjo Nigori Sake
    • Japan and France > Miso-Marinated Délice de Bourgogne Cheese
    • Harpoon Brewery Rich & Dan’s Rye IPA
    • Japan and France > Foie Gras Nigiri with Balsamic–Chocolate Kabayaki and Claudio Corallo Raisin–Cocoa Pulp
    • Hanahato Kijoshu 8-Year-Aged Sake
    • Chocolate Bento Box

 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 06.03.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam