Tim Cushman, Nancy Cushman and their team at the James Beard house
Salmon Sushi with Vietnamese Dashi Caramel and Spicy Rau Rum Salsa
Karikari Crispy Chicken Skin Sushi with Yuzu and Honey–Pickled Ginger and Schmaltz Powder
Hamachi Sushi with Spicy Banana Pepper Mousse
Homemade Fingerling Potato Chip Sushi with Black Truffles
Japan > Kumamoto Oyster with Watermelon Pearls and Cucumber Mignonette
Japan > Shima Aji and Sea Urchin Sashimi with Ceviche Vinaigrette and Cilantro
Italy > Eggplant Involtini with Goat Cheese and San Marzano Tomatoes
Mexico > Crispy Carnitas Tacos with Tomatillos and Jalapeño Salsa Verde
Thailand > Spicy Tom Kar Chicken Soup with Young Coconut
apan and France > Foie Gras Nigiri with Balsamic–Chocolate Kabayaki and Claudio Corallo Raisin–Cocoa Pulp
Dinner

Spring Sake, Global Flavor

Award Winner

Tim Cushman

O Ya, Boston

For a tiny restaurant, O Ya pulls in big praise. It topped Frank Bruni’s list of America’s best new restaurants in 2008, while chef Tim Cushman received our Best Chef: Northeast award last year. This husband-and-wife team is returning to the Beard House with a menu that pairs global flavors with boutique sakes.

Event photos by F. Martin Ramin.

Related Info:

O Ya 

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Salmon Sushi with Vietnamese Dashi Caramel and Spicy Rau Rum Salsa
    • Karikari Crispy Chicken Skin Sushi with Yuzu and Honey–Pickled Ginger and Schmaltz Powder
    • Hamachi Sushi with Spicy Banana Pepper Mousse
    • Homemade Fingerling Potato Chip Sushi with Black Truffles
    • Hou Hou Shu Sparkling Sake
  • Dinner

    • Japan > Kumamoto Oyster with Watermelon Pearls and Cucumber Mignonette
    • Yuki No Bosha Junmai Ginjo Sake
    • Japan > Shima Aji and Sea Urchin Sashimi with Ceviche Vinaigrette and Cilantro
    • Takasago Ginja Shizuku Junmai Daiginjo Sake
    • Italy > Eggplant Involtini with Goat Cheese and San Marzano Tomatoes
    • Shichi Hon Yari Junmai Sake
    • Mexico > Crispy Carnitas Tacos with Tomatillos and Jalapeño Salsa Verde
    • Fukucho Moon on the Water Junmai Ginjo Sake
    • Thailand > Spicy Tom Kar Chicken Soup with Young Coconut
    • Dassai Junmai Daiginjo Nigori Sake
    • Japan and France > Miso-Marinated Délice de Bourgogne Cheese
    • Harpoon Brewery Rich & Dan’s Rye IPA
    • Japan and France > Foie Gras Nigiri with Balsamic–Chocolate Kabayaki and Claudio Corallo Raisin–Cocoa Pulp
    • Hanahato Kijoshu 8-Year-Aged Sake
    • Chocolate Bento Box

 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 06.03.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • Call 212.627.2308 to reserve
 
 
 

April 2013

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
Under the Sea Tue, 04.02.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 04.03.2013
 
Boston Seafood Celebration Wed, 04.03.2013
 
 
Modern Debut Fri, 04.05.2013
 
French Creole Meets Italian Sat, 04.06.2013
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
Spring Elegance Mon, 04.08.2013
 
Three-Star Italian Tue, 04.09.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 04.10.2013
 
Lambs and Clams Wed, 04.10.2013
 
Rioja Celebration Thu, 04.11.2013
 
Rocky Mountain Retreat Fri, 04.12.2013
 
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Baker’s Brunch Sun, 04.14.2013
 
Memphis Sun, 04.14.2013
 
Luxury Sonoma Tue, 04.16.2013
 
Chicago Michelin Star Wed, 04.17.2013
 
Comfort Me with Spring Thu, 04.18.2013
 
Aegean Idyll Fri, 04.19.2013
 
Providence Heritage Sat, 04.20.2013
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Modern Italian Mon, 04.22.2013
 
 
Savoring Thai Flavors Wed, 04.24.2013
 
Market-Fresh Montauk Thu, 04.25.2013
 
 
Peruvian Panache Sat, 04.27.2013
 
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
 
 
Sierra Nevada Foothills Tue, 04.30.2013
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam