James Beard Foundation Restaurant Design Awards

James Beard Foundation Restaurant Design Awards

Entries for the 2017 JBF Restaurant Design Awards are now being accepted. The submission deadline is January 27, 2017. The 2016 Restaurant Design Awards will be bestowed at the James Beard Awards ceremony at the Lyric Opera of Chicago on May 1, 2017.



Established in 1994, the JBF Design Awards recognize beautiful, functional design that seamlessly melds the setting and theme of a restaurant environment.

The Restaurant Design Awards consist of two categories: Outstanding Restaurant Design: 75 Seats and Under; and Outstanding Restaurant Design: 76 Seats and Over. For the 2017 Awards, any restaurant or design project that was completed or redone in North America after January 2014 is eligible. Architects, interior designers, and graphic designers may submit their projects for consideration. There is a $100 entry fee for JBF members, $150 for non-members. See our winner archive.

2017 Restaurant Design Awards Jurors

Wendy Goodman, Design Editor, New York Magazine

Stephanie Goto, Architect and Founder, Stephanie Goto

Andre Kikoski, Architect, JBF Restaurant Design Award Winner for The Wright; and Founder, Andre Kikoski Architect

Bill Menking, Founder and Editor-in-Chief, The Architects Newspaper

Charles Phan, Chef and Owner, JBF Award Winning–Restaurant Slanted Door; and Multiple JBF Award Winner and Nominee

2017 Restaurant Design Awards Committee

The Restaurant Design Awards Committee is made up of architects, interior designers, writers and graphic designers. The committee both chooses the jurors who will judge the winners and oversees the process.

James Biber, Chair, Biber Architects

David Darling, aidlin darling design

Craig Dykers, Founding Partner and Executive Director, SnØhetta

Dung Ngo

Chee Pearlman, Chee Company Inc. 

James Beard Foundation Restaurant Design Awards