The 2015 James Beard Awards

See the 2015 Restaurant & Chef Award semifinalists.


Learn more about the 2015 JBF Awards.

Navigating for Awards

Use this tool to explore JBF chefs past and present by performing a search, choosing some filters or both.

Navigate through the filters and select as many as you like from each category. Click Search when you're ready.

Our Chefs

Awards Gala & Reception

Monday, May 4, 2015, 6:00 P.M.
Lyric Opera of Chicago

This year’s gala reception will be inspired by 25 years of culinary excellence. We’ve invited twenty recent JBF Award-winning chefs from around the country to create a dish that expresses their signature style.

Gala Reception Chefs

JBF Award Winner Justin Aprahamian
Sanford Restaurant, Milwaukee

JBF Award Winner Jimmy Bannos, Jr.
The Purple Pig, Chicago

JBF Award Winner Jamie Bissonnette
Toro, NYC

JBF Award Winner David Beran
NEXT, Chicago

JBF Award Winner Ashley Christensen
Poole’s Diner, Raleigh, NC

JBF Award Winner Colby Garrelts
Bluestem, Kansas City

JBF Award Winner Brooks Headley
Del Posto Restaurant, NYC

JBF Award Winner Jennifer Jasinski
Rioja, Denver

JBF Award Winner Melissa Kelly
Primo Restaurants LTD, Rockland, ME

JBF Award Winner Tory McPhail
Commander’s Palace, New Orleans

JBF Award Winner Daniel Patterson
Coi, San Francisco

JBF Award Winner Ryan Prewitt
Pêche Seafood Grill, New Orleans

Matthew Rudofker
Momofuku Ssäm Bar, NYC

JBF Award Winner Chris Shepherd
Underbelly, Houston

JBF Award Winner Nancy Silverton
Mozza Restaurant Group, Los Angeles

JBF Award Winner Vikram Sunderam
Rasika, Washington, D.C.

JBF Award Winner Takashi Yagihashi
Slurping Turtle, Chicago

VIP Experience Chef

JBF Award Winner Stephanie Izard
Girl & the Goat, Chicago
Lexus Culinary Master

Gala Sponsor Chefs

Sarah Kosikowski
Sponsored by Valrhona

Derin Moore, CMC
Sponsored by Braveheart Black Angus Beef from PERFORMANCE Foodservice

Derek Poirier
Sponsored by Valrhona

David Posey
Taste of Waldorf Astoria, Sponsored by Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Toni Roberts
theWit Hotel, Chicago, Sponsored by Valrhona

Jeffrey Steelman
Sponsored by HMSHost

John Suley
Sponsored by Celebrity Cruises

Lee Wolen
Boka, Chicago
Sponsored by Breville

Andrew Zimmerman
Sepia, Chicago
Sponsored by Mariano’s


The James Beard Book, Broadcast & Journalism Awards Dinner

Friday, April 24, 2015
6:00 P.M.
Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers, NYC

Dinner Chefs

JBF Award Winner Gavin Kaysen
Spoon and Stable, Minneapolis

JBF Award Winner Carrie Nahabedian
NAHA, Chicago

Dessert Reception Chef

JBF Award Winner Gale Gand
Spritzburger, Chicago

JBF Award Winner Sarabeth Levine
Sarabeth’s, NYC