Jeremy Nolen and Marnie Old with members of their team in the Beard House kitchen
Foie Gras Liverwurst with Red Currant–Shallot Preserves on Rye Crostini
Pickled Poconos Brook Trout with Shallot Confit and Mustard Seed Caviar
Hazelnut Soup with Black Truffles and Crispy Duck Cracklings
Cured Westphalian Duck Ham with Pumpernickel Crumbs and Lingonberries
Cold-Smoked Venison Carpaccio with Spruce Oil, Pickled Turnip Salad, and Spiced Hazelnuts
Swabian Parsnip–Stuffed Pasta with Cod, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, and Smoked Duck Broth
Chef Jeremy Nolan searing cod in the Beard House kitchen
Rabbit Ragoût with Poppy Seed Noodles, Blood Sausage, and Smoked Paprika
Bone-In Berkshire Pork Chop with House-Fermented Savoy Cabbage Sauerkraut, Pretzel Dumpling, and Cherry Wheat Beer Mustard
Cherry Strudel with Marzipan, Toasted Almonds, and Icewine Sabayon
Dinner

Bold German Cuisine

Jeremy Nolen

Brauhaus Schmitz and Wursthaus Schmitz, Philadelphia

Sommelier/Author Marnie Old

Old Wines, LLC, Philadelphia

Forget brats and bier steins. Culinary wunderkind Jeremy Nolen is elevating German food to new heights at his Philadelphia hotspot Brauhaus Schmitz. Join us for a tasting of modern German cuisine and boutique wines at his Beard House debut. Prost to that!

Event photos taken by Tom Kirkman.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Stopfleberwurst
    • Foie Gras Liverwurst with Red Currant–Shallot Preserves on Rye Crostini
    • Forelle Rollmops
    • Pickled Poconos Brook Trout with Shallot Confit and Mustard Seed Caviar
    • Haselnusssuppe
    • Hazelnut Soup with Black Truffles and Crispy Duck Cracklings
    • Enten
    • Cured Westphalian Duck Ham with Pumpernickel Crumbs and Lingonberries
    • Von Schubert Maximin Grünhäuser Riesling Kabinett 2010
  • Dinner

    • Reh Carpaccio
    • Cold-Smoked Venison Carpaccio with Spruce Oil, Pickled Turnip Salad, and Spiced Hazelnuts
    • TRIMBACH DRY GEWÜRZTRAMINER 2010
    • Maultaschen und Dorsch
    • Swabian Parsnip–Stuffed Pasta with Cod, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, and Smoked Duck Broth
    • Becker Estate Pinot Noir 2009
    • Kaninchen Gulasch
    • Rabbit Ragoût with Poppy Seed Noodles, Blood Sausage, and Smoked Paprika
    • HERMANN MOSER ZWEIGELT 2010
    • Entenbratwurst mit Schweinskottelet
    • Bone-In Berkshire Pork Chop with House-Fermented Savoy Cabbage Sauerkraut, Pretzel Dumpling, and Cherry Wheat Beer Mustard
    • TIEFENBRUNNER CASTEL TURMHOF LAGREIN 2009
    • Kirschstrudel
    • Cherry Strudel with Marzipan, Toasted Almonds, and Icewine Sabayon
    • PACIFIC RIM VIN DE GLACIERE RIESLING 2010

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 02.02.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2013

S M T W T F S
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
Greenhouse Gallery Fri, 03.01.2013
 
The Berkshire Cure-All Fri, 03.01.2013
 
Toast of Atlanta Sat, 03.02.2013
 
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Great Neighborhood Brunch Sun, 03.03.2013
 
Philippe Chin and Friends Mon, 03.04.2013
 
Ode to Local Tue, 03.05.2013
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Coastal Cuisine Wed, 03.06.2013
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Mid-Atlantic Mediterranean Thu, 03.07.2013
 
Beach Fare and Cocktails Fri, 03.08.2013
 
Big Beef, Big Red Sat, 03.09.2013
 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
 
Ooh La l’Amour Mon, 03.11.2013
 
From Scratch Sessions Tue, 03.12.2013
 
From Garden to Table Tue, 03.12.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Latin Road Home Wed, 03.13.2013
 
The Beauty of Basilicata Thu, 03.14.2013
 
Modern Chinese Fri, 03.15.2013
 
 
 
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
 
Charleston, SC Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Culinary Whimsy Mon, 03.18.2013
 
Norouz: Persian New Year Tue, 03.19.2013
 
A Taste of Korea Wed, 03.20.2013
 
Bay Area Brasserie Thu, 03.21.2013
 
Innovative Seafood Fri, 03.22.2013
 
Sophisticated French Sat, 03.23.2013
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
Second Night Passover Seder Tue, 03.26.2013
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.27.2013
 
¡Viva Pensacola! Wed, 03.27.2013
 
 
Chic Italian Luncheon Fri, 03.29.2013
 
 
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam