Hands of Harvest
Special Event

Enlightened Eaters

Matt Haley

Bluecoast Seafood Grill, Bethany Beach, DE; Catch 54 and Papá Grande’s Coastal Taqueria, Fenwick Island, DE; Fish On, Lewes, DE; Lupo di Mare, Rehoboth Beach, DE; Matt’s Fish Camp, Bethany Beach, DE; and Northeast Seafood Kitchen, Ocean View, DE

A philanthropist as well as restaurateur, Matthew Haley helped produce the documentary film Hands of Harvest, which narrates the lives of Mexican migrant women who travel to the shores of Maryland to pick Atlantic blue crabs and illustrates just how much foreign labor keeps a crucial American industry afloat. Matthew also is the executive chef and owner of SoDel concepts, a seven-restaurant group in Southern Delaware serving up ocean-to-table cuisine. Snacks will be provided by the Natural Gourmet Institute.

Natural Gourmet Institute

 

Related Info:

Enlightened Eaters is an educationally minded series of readings, workshops, discussions, and other programs focusing on health, nutrition, sustainability, and environmental issues. This event is free to students, with a suggested donation of $20 for nonstudents. Acqua Panna and S.Pellegrino water, Lavazza Coffee, tea from Tea Forté, and Valrhona Chocolate will be served. Snacks will be provided and guests are also welcome to bring a brown-bag lunch. 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 02.26.2014
  • 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Suggested donation: $20 for nonstudents
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2016

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Splash of Winter Rosé Mon, 02.01.2016
 
Five-Star Winter Elegance Tue, 02.02.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Flavors of Veneto Thu, 02.04.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
San Diego Hot Spot Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Luxurious Kaiseki Sat, 02.06.2016
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
Mardi Gras Mystique Tue, 02.09.2016
 
Feast of the Senses Wed, 02.10.2016
 
Pocono Mountain Retreat Thu, 02.11.2016
 
Southern Social Fri, 02.12.2016
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
New Orleans Charm Wed, 02.17.2016
 
The Art of the Chef Thu, 02.18.2016
 
Rustic Italian Fri, 02.19.2016
 
Neighborhood Gem Sat, 02.20.2016
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Toast of Montauk Wed, 02.24.2016
 
New-School Italian Thu, 02.25.2016
 
Beetlebung Farm Supper Fri, 02.26.2016
 
 
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
 
Bold Asian Flavor Mon, 02.29.2016
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam