Hands of Harvest
Special Event

Enlightened Eaters

Matt Haley

Bluecoast Seafood Grill, Bethany Beach, DE; Catch 54 and Papá Grande’s Coastal Taqueria, Fenwick Island, DE; Fish On, Lewes, DE; Lupo di Mare, Rehoboth Beach, DE; Matt’s Fish Camp, Bethany Beach, DE; and Northeast Seafood Kitchen, Ocean View, DE

A philanthropist as well as restaurateur, Matthew Haley helped produce the documentary film Hands of Harvest, which narrates the lives of Mexican migrant women who travel to the shores of Maryland to pick Atlantic blue crabs and illustrates just how much foreign labor keeps a crucial American industry afloat. Matthew also is the executive chef and owner of SoDel concepts, a seven-restaurant group in Southern Delaware serving up ocean-to-table cuisine. Snacks will be provided by the Natural Gourmet Institute.

Natural Gourmet Institute

 

Related Info:

Enlightened Eaters is an educationally minded series of readings, workshops, discussions, and other programs focusing on health, nutrition, sustainability, and environmental issues. This event is free to students, with a suggested donation of $20 for nonstudents. Acqua Panna and S.Pellegrino water, Lavazza Coffee, tea from Tea Forté, and Valrhona Chocolate will be served. Snacks will be provided and guests are also welcome to bring a brown-bag lunch. 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 02.26.2014
  • 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Suggested donation: $20 for nonstudents
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

May 2016

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
 
 
 
Cinco de Mayo Thu, 05.05.2016
 
 
Amelia Island, FL Sat, 05.07.2016
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
Harlem EatUp! Mon, 05.09.2016
 
Foraged Mushroom Feast Tue, 05.10.2016
 
 
Columbus, OH Thu, 05.12.2016
 
Bedford Luxury Thu, 05.12.2016
 
 
New Rocky Mountain Cuisine Sat, 05.14.2016
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
Raleigh, NC Sun, 05.15.2016
 
 
Historic Lakefront Elegance Tue, 05.17.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 05.18.2016
 
Washington, D.C. Wed, 05.18.2016
 
Escape to Maui Thu, 05.19.2016
 
 
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
Japanese Joint Mon, 05.23.2016
 
Bistro Elegance Tue, 05.24.2016
 
A Night of Film and Food Wed, 05.25.2016
 
Bubbles at the Beach Wed, 05.25.2016
 
The Flavors of Canada Thu, 05.26.2016
 
 
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam