Hands of Harvest
Special Event

Enlightened Eaters

Matt Haley

Bluecoast Seafood Grill, Bethany Beach, DE; Catch 54 and Papá Grande’s Coastal Taqueria, Fenwick Island, DE; Fish On, Lewes, DE; Lupo di Mare, Rehoboth Beach, DE; Matt’s Fish Camp, Bethany Beach, DE; and Northeast Seafood Kitchen, Ocean View, DE

A philanthropist as well as restaurateur, Matthew Haley helped produce the documentary film Hands of Harvest, which narrates the lives of Mexican migrant women who travel to the shores of Maryland to pick Atlantic blue crabs and illustrates just how much foreign labor keeps a crucial American industry afloat. Matthew also is the executive chef and owner of SoDel concepts, a seven-restaurant group in Southern Delaware serving up ocean-to-table cuisine. Snacks will be provided by the Natural Gourmet Institute.

Natural Gourmet Institute

 

Related Info:

Enlightened Eaters is an educationally minded series of readings, workshops, discussions, and other programs focusing on health, nutrition, sustainability, and environmental issues. This event is free to students, with a suggested donation of $20 for nonstudents. Acqua Panna and S.Pellegrino water, Lavazza Coffee, tea from Tea Forté, and Valrhona Chocolate will be served. Snacks will be provided and guests are also welcome to bring a brown-bag lunch. 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 02.26.2014
  • 12:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Suggested donation: $20 for nonstudents
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

January 2015

S M T W T F S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
 
 
 
 
 
 
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
 
Eating the African Diaspora Mon, 01.12.2015
 
 
Downtown Italian Wed, 01.14.2015
 
Pioneers and Legends Thu, 01.15.2015
 
Life in the Big Easy Fri, 01.16.2015
 
 
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
 
 
NYC Tue, 01.20.2015
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 01.21.2015
 
 
The New Classic Thu, 01.22.2015
 
Maui, HI Fri, 01.23.2015
 
The Craft of Charcuterie Fri, 01.23.2015
 
Maui, HI Fri, 01.23.2015
 
Taste of the New South Sat, 01.24.2015
 
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
The Butcher and the Chef Mon, 01.26.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Tue, 01.27.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 01.28.2015
 
D.C. Women Chefs Rock Wed, 01.28.2015
 
Philly Star Thu, 01.29.2015
 
Smoke and Mirrors Fri, 01.30.2015
 
Jacksonville, FL Sat, 01.31.2015
 
JBF Kitchen Cam