Candice Kumai
Ursula Cary
Sam Talbot
Special Event

Kickstart Your Cookbook

AN INTERACTIVE SEMINAR ON HOW TO BREAK IN TO THE FOOD PUBLISHING BUSINESS

Host Candice Kumai
Cookbook Author, Food Writer, and Iron Chef America Judge

Ursula Cary
Senior Editor at Rodale Books

Sam Talbot
Chef and Cookbook Author

Join us for our first-ever Kickstart Your Cookbook workshop with Candice Kumai, Ursula Cary, and Sam Talbot. At this new and exciting seminar, Candice, Ursula, and Sam will share their insights on breaking into the food publishing business. From pitching a concept, finding a literary agent, and crafting a proposal to selling and promoting a book once it’s published, you won’t want to miss this insider’s guide to getting your foot in the door.

AMUSE BOUCHE
Setting Goals: Who you are and where you want to go in publishing

APPETIZER
Proper Book Pitching

MAIN COURSE
Cookbook Crafting Skills and Strategy

DESSERT
How to Create a Book Proposal

Coffee and pastries: 9:30–10:00 A.M.
Interactive seminar: 10:00–12:00 P.M.  

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Mon, 10.22.2012
  • 9:30 AM
  • The Beard House map
  • Free for JBF Professional/Student members and culinary students, $25 for General Public
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2016

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Splash of Winter Rosé Mon, 02.01.2016
 
Five-Star Winter Elegance Tue, 02.02.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Flavors of Veneto Thu, 02.04.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
San Diego Hot Spot Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Luxurious Kaiseki Sat, 02.06.2016
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
Mardi Gras Mystique Tue, 02.09.2016
 
Feast of the Senses Wed, 02.10.2016
 
Pocono Mountain Retreat Thu, 02.11.2016
 
Southern Social Fri, 02.12.2016
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
New Orleans Charm Wed, 02.17.2016
 
The Art of the Chef Thu, 02.18.2016
 
Rustic Italian Fri, 02.19.2016
 
Neighborhood Gem Sat, 02.20.2016
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Toast of Montauk Wed, 02.24.2016
 
New-School Italian Thu, 02.25.2016
 
Beetlebung Farm Supper Fri, 02.26.2016
 
 
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
 
Bold Asian Flavor Mon, 02.29.2016
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam