Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs
Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels
Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts
Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots
Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese
Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream
Dinner

Mangalitsa Mayhem

Chef/Television Personality Lee Anne Wong
NYC

Joe Macchia
Chow Down, Inc./ NYC

Chef/Vice President Michael Clampffer
Mosefund Mangalitsa/ Branchville, NJ

Renowned for its complex flavor and superior marbling, the Mangalitsa pig makes chefs and pork lovers go hog wild. For this porcine-themed dinner, a team of Mangalitsa devotees will craft a tasting menu from this succulent, old-world heritage breed from New Jersey’s Mosefund Mangalitsa farm.

​Event photos by Krishna Dayanidhi.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts 
    • Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
    • Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs 
    • Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels 
    • Spring Peas and Prosciutto 
  • Dinner

    • Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
    • Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots 
    • Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese 
    • Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
    • Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
    • Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream 
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 04.21.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

January 2015

S M T W T F S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
 
 
 
 
 
 
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
 
Eating the African Diaspora Mon, 01.12.2015
 
 
Downtown Italian Wed, 01.14.2015
 
Pioneers and Legends Thu, 01.15.2015
 
Life in the Big Easy Fri, 01.16.2015
 
 
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
 
 
NYC Tue, 01.20.2015
 
Enlightened Eaters Wed, 01.21.2015
 
 
The New Classic Thu, 01.22.2015
 
Maui, HI Fri, 01.23.2015
 
The Craft of Charcuterie Fri, 01.23.2015
 
Maui, HI Fri, 01.23.2015
 
Taste of the New South Sat, 01.24.2015
 
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
The Butcher and the Chef Mon, 01.26.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Tue, 01.27.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 01.28.2015
 
D.C. Women Chefs Rock Wed, 01.28.2015
 
Philly Star Thu, 01.29.2015
 
Smoke and Mirrors Fri, 01.30.2015
 
Jacksonville, FL Sat, 01.31.2015
 
JBF Kitchen Cam