Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs
Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels
Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts
Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots
Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese
Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream
Dinner

Mangalitsa Mayhem

Chef/Television Personality Lee Anne Wong
NYC

Joe Macchia
Chow Down, Inc./ NYC

Chef/Vice President Michael Clampffer
Mosefund Mangalitsa/ Branchville, NJ

Renowned for its complex flavor and superior marbling, the Mangalitsa pig makes chefs and pork lovers go hog wild. For this porcine-themed dinner, a team of Mangalitsa devotees will craft a tasting menu from this succulent, old-world heritage breed from New Jersey’s Mosefund Mangalitsa farm.

​Event photos by Krishna Dayanidhi.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Speck and Eggs with Asparagus and Garlic Toasts 
    • Mangalitsa Lard–Fried Doughnuts with Lardo
    • Pork Cheek–Ramp Raviolini with Smoked Ricotta and Toasted Bread Crumbs 
    • Liverwurst with Black Pepper Cream Cheese on Poppy Seed Bagels 
    • Spring Peas and Prosciutto 
  • Dinner

    • Michael’s Cured Meat Plate with Spring Fruit Mostarda
    • Marinated Mackerel with Sauerkraut Broth, Braised Bacon, Pickled Mustard Seeds, and Carrots 
    • Pork Shoulder Lasagna with Charred Spring Onions, Pickled Chanterelles, and Sottocenere Cheese 
    • Herb-Marinated Neck Roast with Fava Beans, Turnips, Strawberries, and Toasted Fregola Sarda
    • Spring Fruits with Pork Fat Sabayon
    • Sticky Bacon–Toffee Pudding with Whipped Cream 
    • A selection of fine wines will be served with this dinner.

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 04.21.2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam