Chef Akira Back with his team in the James Beard House Kitchen
Japanese Eggplant with Mozzarella and Sweet Miso
Behind the scenes in the Beard House Kitchen
Crispy Rice with Blackened Tuna, Seaweed, and Screaming O Sauce
Baked Crab Hand Rolls with Crispy Onions, Spicy Aïoli, and Soy Paper
Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Big-Eye Tuna Pizza with Micro-Shiso and Truffles
Behind the scenes in the Beard House kitchen
Whitefish Carpaccio with Hirame, Dried Shallots, and Nanbanzu
Seoul Garden > Vegetables, Soil, Micro-Herbs, and Garlic–Chile Oil
Butter-Poached Lobster with Citrus Maldon Sea Salt
Grilled Pork Chop with Apple–Fennel Slaw and Apple Miso
Behind the scenes at the Beard House

Modern Japanese with a Korean Twist

Akira Back

Yellowtail Japanese Restaurant & Lounge at the Bellagio, Las Vegas; Kumi Japanese Restaurant + Bar at Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas; and Akira Back Japanese Restaurant at the JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity, New Delhi, India

Former professional snowboarder Akira Back worked with Nobu Matsuhisa and Masaharu Morimoto before opening his own acclaimed restaurants in Sin City. No need to travel for a taste of Back's signature high-rolling style–join us at the Beard House for a tempting menu of his modern Japanese cuisine with a playful Korean spin.

Event photos taken by Elizabeth Stallmeyer.

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre

    • Japanese Eggplant with Mozzarella and Sweet Miso 
    • Crispy Rice with Blackened Tuna, Seaweed, and Screaming O Sauce
    • Baked Crab Hand Rolls with Crispy Onions, Spicy Aïoli, and Soy Paper
    • Shirakabe-Gura Mio Sparkling Sake NV
  • Dinner

    • Big-Eye Tuna Pizza with Micro-Shiso and Truffles
    • Akira Back Junmai Ginjo Sake NV
    • Whitefish Carpaccio with Hirame, Dried Shallots, and Nanbanzu
    • Dassai Cloud 50 Junmai Daiginjo Nigori Sake NV
    • Seoul Garden > Vegetables, Soil, Micro-Herbs, and Garlic–Chile Oil
    • Nanbu Bijin Ancient Pillars Junmai Daiginjo Sake NV
    • Butter-Poached Lobster with Citrus Maldon Sea Salt
    • Hatsumago First Grandson Junmai Kimoto Sake NV 
    • Grilled Pork Chop with Apple–Fennel Slaw and Apple Miso
    • Miyasaka Yamahai 50 Nama Last Ride Home Junmai Ginjo Sake NV
    • Sesame Cheesecake
    • Choya Ume Blanc Plum Wine NV

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Sat, 02.08.2014
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

March 2015

S M T W T F S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
 
Beard Burger 'Bun' Anza Mon, 03.02.2015
 
Bern’s at the Beard House Tue, 03.03.2015
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Napa, CA Wed, 03.04.2015
 
Chefs of MARC Thu, 03.05.2015
 
New York Meets Copenhagen Fri, 03.06.2015
 
Washington Bounty Sat, 03.07.2015
 
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
 
New York Icon, Reinvented Tue, 03.10.2015
 
Along the Spice Route Wed, 03.11.2015
 
Los Angeles Thu, 03.12.2015
 
One Cool Cat Thu, 03.12.2015
 
 
 
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
 
 
Beard on Books Wed, 03.18.2015
 
Russian River Rendezvous Fri, 03.20.2015
 
 
 
Cambridge, MA Sat, 03.21.2015
 
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
Taste of Nantucket Tue, 03.24.2015
 
Pittsburgh Wed, 03.25.2015
 
Scottsdale, AZ Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Michelin in Sonoma Thu, 03.26.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Consider the Oyster Bar Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Nourishing the Past Sat, 03.28.2015
 
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Palm Desert, CA Fri, 03.27.2015
 
Las Vegas Sun, 03.29.2015
 
Nashville Buzz Tue, 03.31.2015
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam