Stories / Awards

Enter the 2022 James Beard Awards Now

Learn about the changes to categories, fees, and more

JBF Editors

October 12, 2021


James Beard Awards medallion with a grey ribbon on a white background

Enter the Awards here

Today, the entry and recommendation period for the 2022 James Beard Awards is officially open. These Awards will be the first since 2019 to be presented at an in-person ceremony with a full roster of nominees and honorees, and the first since changes to the Awards were made as a result of our comprehensive audit.

In August 2020, we underwent an internal and external review of policies and procedures, to ensure a more transparent, accessible, and equitable process for future James Beard Awards. As a result of the recommendations, the Foundation has made a number of changes to Awards policies and procedures—including some of its categories—centered around the organization’s mission to celebrate, support, and elevate the people behind America’s food culture. The changes were made to address systemic bias, increase the diversity of the voting body, and make the Awards more accessible to more communities.

“We are thrilled to announce the call for entry for the 2022 James Beard Awards, with a strengthened commitment toward celebrating the diversity of our industry,” said Dawn Padmore, vice president of Awards. “In light of all the challenges faced since the pandemic, we look forward to returning to the stage, recognizing excellence, and championing an industry where everyone has the same opportunity to reach their highest potential.”

The James Beard Foundation Awards consist of five separate recognition programs and two special achievement awards: Media Awards (Book, Broadcast Media, and Journalism); Restaurant and Chef Awards; Leadership Awards; Lifetime Achievement; and Humanitarian of the Year Awards.

The deadline for submitting entries (Media Awards) and recommendations (Restaurant and Chef Awards and Leadership Awards) is Tuesday, November 30, 2021* at 11:59 P.M. ET.

Here are a few of the changes to the 2022 Awards:

  • In an effort to remove any financial barrier to entry, fees for Media Awards have been decreased from $150 to $75 per entry, and limited grants will be available during the first two weeks of the Call for Entry to cover the entry fee for those who state a financial need.
  • All Media Awards categories (book, broadcast media, and journalism) will now have an Emerging Voice category to invite and celebrate new voices in this space.
  • The Columns category is now Columns and Newsletters, which recognizes the work of an individual that demonstrates thought-provoking opinion and a compelling style on food- or drink-related topics.
  • The Rising Star Chef of the Year category is now Emerging Chef, with no age limit, in recognition that a chef may become part of the industry at various points in their life.

To read about all of the changes and learn more about the entry period, read the full press or head to our Awards page for more information.

Read the full press release.